Tiffany & Co. ‘s legendary flagship in New York, now known as ‘The Landmark’ went under renovation four years ago, this week Tiffany’s new era is ready to welcome clients to experience an innovative concept of a luxurious jewellery store, showcasing exquisite architecture and offering superior hospitality.
Above: The main floor at the newly renovated Tiffany & Co. flagship in New York.
The Landmark marks the luxury retail institution’s first holistic renovation of the store since it first opened its doors in 1940. Opposing forces define the transformation: old and new, past and future, hidden and revealed treasures. Paying homage to the building’s iconic original structure, the beloved façade with its Atlas statue and clock above the revolving doors was refurbished to honour its original design, while the interiors have been completely reimagined into a new world of wonders.
Two major forces were integral to the store’s transformation. Legendary architect Peter Marino reimagined the interior architecture and OMA New York, led by the renowned Shohei Shigematsu, spearheaded the renovation of the building’s core and circulation infrastructure as well as the addition of the new three-story volume above the existing building. The OMA/Shohei Shigematsu- led rooftop addition, replacing the office space added in 1980, features two distinct yet connected forms that make up the unified volume.
Upon entering the new store, clients are immediately immersed in an expansive main floor of jewelry cases illuminated by an innovative take on a skylight. The ceiling installation spans nearly the room’s length and is composed of an abstraction of facets. Its unique design is a tribute to Tiffany’s heritage and authority as the purveyor of the world’s finest diamonds. Integrated throughout the Landmark’s 10 floors are nearly 40 artworks, including never-before-seen Tiffany- commissioned pieces. The curation features works by renowned artists including Damien Hirst, Julian Schnabel, Rashid Johnson, Anna Weyant and Daniel Arsham.
Above: On the 3rd floor, The Love and Engagement story.
On the ground floor visitors are immersed in iconic New York City scenery through video walls that project sweeping views of Central Park and the Manhattan skyline when turned on and serve as mirrors when turned off. Wood parquet flooring throughout the building harkens back to the original 1940’s design, echoing the original pattern from our store interior. A new Tiffany & Co. clock, inspired by the original Atlas statue and clock, also sits on the ground level.
The heart of the store features a sculptural spiral staircase with undulating transparent balustrades adorned with rock crystal, inspired by, and reflecting the sensual and organic designs of Elsa Peretti. The staircase connects floors 3 through 8, while elevators allow access to every floor.
The Blue Box CafeTM by Daniel Boulud offers a unique take on Tiffany’s coveted dining experience. New York’s Michelin-starred chef Daniel Boulud brings a seasonally inspired daytime menu, including breakfast and tea. The redesigned space now includes a private dining area and bar with art installations.
Dedicated museum and exhibition spaces on floors 8 and 9 will offer a rotation of compelling concepts and unique storytelling experiences.
To commemorate the reopening of the store, Tiffany & Co. is also set to debut a range of exclusive designs and one-of-a-kind creations. This offering will include everything from extraordinary diamond watches and limited-edition home objects to eyewear inspired by the Tiffany® Setting engagement ring. Now home to the largest collection of Tiffany High Jewelry in the world with perhaps the biggest wonder of them all— a new design for the legendary 128.54-carat Tiffany Diamond.
The Landmark reopens with a significant investment in leading environmental, health and wellbeing initiatives and was built to operate sustainably for years to come. The Landmark store is on track to achieve WELL Platinum certification and LEED Gold certification.
Tiffany & C0. , The Landmark in New York will open its doors on April 28th, 2023